8 Seconds in Backcourt

28.1. Rule

28.1.1. Whenever:

  • A player in the backcourt gains control of a live ball,

  • On a throw-in, the ball touches or is legally touched by any player in the backcourt and the team of that player taking the throw-in remains in control of the ball in its backcourt, that team must cause the ball to go into its front court within 8 seconds.

28.1.2. The team has caused the ball to go into its front court whenever

  • The ball, not in control of any player, touches the frontcourt,

  • The ball touches or is legally touched by an offensive player who has both feet completely in contact with his front court,

  • The ball touches or is legally touched by a defensive player who has part of his body in contact with his backcourt,

  • The ball touches an official who has part of his body in contact with the front court of the team in control of the ball.

  • During a dribble from the backcourt to the front court, the ball and both feet of the dribbler are completely in contact with the front court.

28.1.3. The 8 second period will continue with any time remaining when the same team that previously had control of the ball is awarded a throw-in in the backcourt, as a result of:

 

  • A ball having gone out-of-bounds.

  • A player of the same team having been injured.

  • A jump ball situation.

  • A double foul.

  • A cancellation of equal penalties against both teams.

We encourage you to pre and post game ask the Umpire-In-Charge (this is their role) how they determine this call and keep open respectful conversation with the Umpire-In-Charge